RSS
Image

Eggplant-Mushroom Parmesan…in the making.

11 Aug

20130811-142825.jpg

Hello on this glorious Sunday! Today I am making a favorite in our house. This happened to be one of those days when we didn’t want meat, but something that still was hardy enough to call a meal. And since I had picked up a few bags of eggplant from Costco, along with a carton of baby portobello mushrooms, I figured I would combine the two and make Eggplant-Mushroom Parmesan. I started out making a marinara from scratch, sautéed the mushrooms until golden brown, sliced and fried the eggplants in a little vegetable oil, then layered a casserole dish with sauce, eggplant, mushrooms, fresh basil, Parmesan cheese, and fresh mozzarella, repeated in that order. After about 30 minutes in the oven on 375, you end up with a beautiful vegetarian casserole sure to please. I’ll serve an organic garden salad with a garlic vinaigrette dressing, and a Boston iced tea (which is just cranberry juice and tea mixed together). And best of all, this meal is perfectly gluten free!

Going back to the marinara, I have found my favorite tomatoes to use, and they are Carmelina San Marzano, which I order from Amazon. They are the most juicy, silky, red tomatoes you will ever experience. I get the whole unpeeled tomatoes and crush for my sauce. I like that they do not have salt or other ingredients, just beautiful San Marzano tomatoes in their own puree. A case of 12 costs me about $34, but they are worth it. Also, I found my new go to marinara which happens to be a recipe by Ina Garten. It only takes a few ingredients, but wow, the flavor! Her sauce utilizes red wine to deglaze the onions and garlic before adding in the tomatoes, so the sauce has a rich depth of flavor with a little sweetness from the wine. I prefer a red Moscato wine to cook with, but her recipe calls for Chianti. Whichever you choose, it will be one of the best, easy recipe for homemade marinara. If you have 5 things on hand, you are always ready for a good meal…Olive oil, Parmesan Regianno, onions, garlic, and canned San Marzano tomatoes.

Well, bye for now. I have an eggplant Parmesan that is spilling over in the oven. Something told me to use a bigger casserole dish. Some of the cheese has oozed over the sides, but I’ll just play it off and say I was going for that rustic look. ;-).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

