RSS

Happy New Year!  2017, with beans.

01 Jan

Happy New Year!  I start my first meal of the year with a pot of pinto beans, not black-eyed peas.  Never been a fan of the peas, although I have memories of my mom fixing them, along with okra (another one of my food nemesis, unless it’s fried, Lol!). Anywhoo, I just felt like a good pot pinto beans were in order today, and I want to share how I make mine extra healthy and nourishing.

Beans:  I use organic pinto beans found at Earth Fare.  No pesticides in these buddies, just good ole beans.  I rinse them in apple cider vinegar to clean.

Aromatics/flavor:  Fresh garlic, onions, smoked sea salt, black pepper, bay leaf, onion powder, liquid smoke, ham bone, chicken stock or bone broth, olive oil.  Swirl a little olive oil, add the fresh garlic, onion, and ham bone, sautée for 3 minutes, then add the rest of ingredients, and the beans to slow cook in Dutch oven on top of stove.

Bone broth is super nourishing to your body, so today I used it instead of chicken stock as I had it on hand.  Google all the amazing benefits of bone broth to see why you may need to incorporate it into your health.

Then let that baby simmer.  Add the smoked sea salt last to flavor when almost done to avoid beans getting hard while cooking.  And to thicken my beans, I take a few beans out and mash them with a spoon and bean juice, then add to pot.  To accompany this pot of beans, I will make a skillet of gluten-free corn bread and serve with chow-chow, sliced tomatoes, and fresh onions.  Simple yumness in a bowl!  No need for extra meat in meal today, the only meat I will have is that HoneyBaked ham bone when it pulls away from the bone.  Ironically, that is when you know the beans are about done.   

What will be your first meal of the new year?  Are you a bean or pea type of person?  Feel free to comment and share below.  

Here is to a happy new year filled with lots of good new eating!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

