RSS

Nesting Sundays: Baked Italian Ziti and Spring mix Salad with fresh GF croutons

08 Jun

I love Sundays where my husband and kids can pile up in our bed, watch television, and nap. I call it “nesting.” This nest is so comfortable today that I don’t even want to venture out of it to fix dinner. We could just go grab a bite to eat at a restaurant, but that would require getting up, getting dressed, and driving. Lol! No instead, I am thinking Italian comfort food, something cheesy, saucy, filling, that I can make a big pan of and eat off of for the next couple of days. No other dish comes to mind but baked ziti. I happen to have some gluten free penne on hand that I purchased from Costco, Nature’s Earthly Choice, that is fantastic. I usually am a fan of Schar pasta, but this one quickly gained my approval as it cooks up easily, keeps it’s shape, and the texture is par on what you would expect with regular pasta. I’ll whip up some fresh marinara, brown some Italian sausage, add the pasta, throw in a couple of cheeses, and bake until brown and bubbly. Sometimes I will use smoked mozarella if I want a smoky flavor profile to the dish. Fresh basil and spinach helps to lighten up the dish. For our salad, I happen to have some gluten-free jalapeño cheddar bread that I will cut in cubes to make fresh croutons, toasted up in fresh garlic and ghee sprinkled over our salad greens with a drizzle of garlic vinaigrette dressing. Doesn’t that sound delicious?!
Well enough dreaming, it’s time to go to work in the kitchen. I’ll be returning back to my nest shortly with a big plate of this in hand to finish off the evening. Have a beautiful and delicious Sunday!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

