RSS

Soul food Chicken…in the making

01 Jun

20140601-111638.jpg

20140601-111736.jpg

Today’s Sunday dinner is in honor of the birthday boy in our house, who happens to be turning 47. I show my love through cooking, so when I asked my husband if he could have any request granted for a birthday dinner, he chose what we dub “soul food chicken” in our house. This recipe can about more or less out of necessity. We had traveled to Louisiana years ago to visit friends, and the lady of the house and I were scrambling trying to put something together for dinner. She had chicken, and a couple of spices, and we married the idea of making a baked chicken with a soul flair to it. My husband fell in love with it, and after 18 years, it still is the chicken dish that stands out in his head as most memorable. It will be memorable to you as well, and I promise to include it in my cookbook I am working on. Now off to the oven this goes to braise for a couple of hours. I will show the finished dish shortly. With this, we will have smothered cabbage, carrot soufflé, macaroni and cheese, fried corn, and apple dumplings. Now that sounds like one heck of a birthday gift for a lucky man! 🙂

P.S. As a kitchen tip, before you braise any meat, first brown in a little ghee. It really as a nice golden brown crust, and in addition to flavor, sears in the juiciness as you cook.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

