RSS

Homemade Granola, in the making

15 Apr

20140415-112402.jpg

Hello world, I’m back! I know I have been gone a minute, but let’s just say “I have a lot of irons in the fire.” Food is my first love, always has been, so I promise you will see me here on my blog more regularly. Please feel free to comment and give me a shout out. I would love to talk food with you. 🙂

Now getting back to what I’m up to in the kitchen. In my effort to eat more clean, I’m trying to replace store bought items with more homemade creations. Which brings us to granola. I found a recipe by Ina Garten for homemade granola and used it as a blueprint to make my own. The basis of any granola is oats, nuts, oil, plus any other variation you may like to add. In this, I used oats, sliced almonds, and dried unsweetened shredded coconut. I used coconut oil, a little ghee, honey, and a touch of vanilla bean paste to give it flavor. I then baked in the oven until golden brown, and took out to let cool. What you get is the most delicious slightly toasted and sweet granola that will supersede any you would buy at the store. Once this cools, I will add in a few yummy toppings in half a batch to make it over the top, like dried apricots, dried bananas, pistachios, a little cinnamon, etc. I do like to reserve one container in it’s purest form with no extra ingredients on days when I just want nothing more in my flavor profile.

Homemade granola, topped over unsweetened yogurt with drizzle of honey or maple, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and fresh sliced bananas or berries makes for a perfect breakfast or snack. I hope I can enjoy all the above, if I can only restrain from reaching and eating handfuls before it cools.

Bye for now, but not for long! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

