RSS

Beef Bourgionne Stew in the making…

22 Jan

20140122-131434.jpg

Thinking of a hearty stew to make today, and Beef Bourgionne Stew came to mind. When I make stew, I don’t usually use stew meat, I prefer chuck eye steak. If you are not accustomed to eating chuck eye steak, please get acquainted with it. It is the “ribeye” equivalent to the chuck roast, and has nice marbling, which is what you want in a nice stew. Plus, it is economical. I bought fresh chuck eye steak at my local healthy food market for around $6.49/lb, then cut at home in chunks to go in my stew. It truly is a delicious, buttery, juicy cut of meat that serves well in dishes like this. Who wants chewy, dry, round beef in a stew? Not me.

Although I have made Beef Bourgionne in many variations, today I combined the best of what I wanted to “taste” in a stew, like caramelized mushrooms, red peppers, carrots, trinity vegetables, garlic, plum tomatoes, fresh rosemary stock, and red wine. I had a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon on hand that I used. I will then cover with a lid and place in oven to cook for hours until the meat is tender and juices and wine have reduced to flavor the stew.

I must warn you, this stew called for a lot of wine, and I used over half a bottle’s worth, but I am TOTALLY okay with that, if you are… Lol! 😉

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Beef Bourgionne Stew in the making…

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

