RSS

Food Forecast: Parmesan Tilapia, Smoked Mozarella Meatballs, and Chicken Vegetable Soup

05 Jan

Hello on this beautiful Sunday morning! About to put in a couple of hours in the kitchen to prepare my family’s meal plan for the week. What’s in the food forecast?

Dinner:
1. Parmesan Tilapia with Steamed Broccoli
2. Smoked Mozzarella Meatballs, Marinara Sauce, and Caesar Salad
3. Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Breakfast:
1. Sausage, Grilled Pepper, Swiss Quiche
2. Fruit Smoothies

Snacks:
Dried Fruit and Raw Nut Trail Mix

I want to give you a glimpse of how I plan my meals for the week. I shop weekly, buying only the things I will need to prepare dishes for that week. I do this because my taste for what I want to eat changes from week to week, and it helps to streamline my allotted food budget (which is pretty generous as my husband likes to ensure he will eat well…thanks Hun! Lol!) Sure, if I find a good deal on meats or other grocery items I use often I will pick them up, but I try to stick with what I now we will eat that week. I try to at least do some kind of soup, salad, sandwich, and main dish entree/casserole. That way we have a good mix of light and heavy spread out over the week, and it lightens the workload in the kitchen. A good motto I use is “Cook once, Eat twice, or Thrice!,” so doubling the recipes enough to include dinner and lunch for the next day is always in order. Another tip is white you are cooking one meal, prep for a second meal. As I am preparing the fish entree today, I will go ahead and get a jump start on the meatball recipe by making my homemade marinara today. A big beautiful salad stays in my fridge to use as a first course for each dinner, or a quick lunch to reach for.

Well off I go to get this day started. I will be sharing a couple of the recipes mentioned above as I go. Make Sundays the day you plan to focus on your food forecast ahead. I see yumminess on the way!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Food Forecast: Parmesan Tilapia, Smoked Mozarella Meatballs, and Chicken Vegetable Soup

  1. Doris Jones

    January 5, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Bridget, do you freeze your meals or do you eat your meals within a few days? We never eat leftovers over three days old if it’s stored in the fridge.

     
    • thepreparedtable73

      January 5, 2014 at 1:13 pm

      Hey Doris! It depends on what it is. If it’s soups, chilis, or homemade marinara, I will make a double batch and freeze half in quart size containers. For the most part, we eat everything else within a day or 2, as we use last night’s dinner for lunch the next day. I usually cook every 2 days at home.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

