RSS
Image

St. Louis style oven barbecue ribs, in the making…

18 Aug

20130818-103035.jpg

It’s Sunday, and you know what that means? Soul food! Today, I am preparing St. Louis style oven barbecue ribs, Lima beans, Fried okra, Fried corn off the cob, cornbread muffins, iced tea, and Cherry Yum Yum for dessert. Have you swallowed yet? I have…

I wanted to share how I like to do my ribs. As far as cuts go, I prefer St. Louis style cut of ribs as they have a shorter bone, are quite meaty without being too thick, and are easy to work with when slicing off ribs to serve. I started these off by seasoning them in hickory liquid smoke, followed by rubbing them in my 10 spice barbecue rub. I then lay ribs flat in a deep covered pan, and pour a little Redbridge gluten free beer in bottom of pan to add tenderize ribs as they cook, impart depth of flavor to my barbecue sauce, and keep them moist as they cook. I personally like to chop up an onion and sprinkle over the ribs before pouring over my barbecue sauce (something about onions and barbecue sauce together appeals to me). I then cover with a lid, and bake in oven on 350 for 2-/2 to 3 hours, basting ribs in reduced sauce from pan periodically, cooking until fork tender. The last 30 minutes of cooking, I remove the lid and cook uncovered to allow the barbecue sauce to thicken on ribs and form a little char. What you end up with are the most flavorful, tender ribs, that go beautifully with any southern style vegetable you choose.

Aside from making my own barbecue sauce, I like Organicville organic barbecue sauce as it is gluten free and made with agave, so you get a nice smoky flavor that is not overly sweet. I actually use this brand in my barbecue baked beans and they are killer! I found a big bottle at Costco for around $6. The key to any oven type barbecuing is to season your meat like you would get it ready for the grill, and cook it covered, low and slow. This method works for chicken as well.

Well that’s all for now. I hope the rest of your day is delicious. Feel free to search the blog for recipes to help you piece together a delicious, soulful dinner fit for your table. You can find my recipe for 10 spice barbecue rub in Thursday’s blog from last week. Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

