RSS
Image

“Rub” a dub dub…Ten spice Barbecue Rub

15 Aug

20130815-104946.jpg

What you know good, folks?! Well it’s the last day of the work week for me, and I’m in a barbecue state of mind…sort of. You see yesterday, I scored big on a grocery coupon deal at Earth Fare where I got a whole natural chicken, 4 ears of corn, and organic spring salad mix for $9! Since I have a busy evening schedule with high school orientation, and wanted something delicious when I got home, I settled on making gluten free barbecue drunken chicken, roasted Parmesan corn on the cob, and garden salad with homemade honey Dijon mustard dressing.

I rely on making my own spice rubs at home as I can count on them being gluten free, and wanted to share a spice rub recipe I tweaked to make my signature flavor. This rub can be used on everything from chicken to ribs, and is quite frankly the only one you will ever need. It is quintessentially that good! I make a batch and store it in glass containers with a lid (the same jars my ghee comes in, just recycled for this purpose), and just spoon out how much I need for any given recipe. Here is what I use:

10 Spice Barbecue Rub

6 tbspn brown sugar
4 tbspn smoked paprika
3 tbspn chili powder
2 tbspn garlic powder
1 tbspn onion powder
1 tbspn ground cumin
1 tspn ground nutmeg
2 tbspn Jane’s Krazy mixed up salt (or kosher salt)
1 tbspn ground black pepper
1 tbspn dried oregano

All you do is measure these out accordingly in a jar, stir to mix well together, give it one final shake with lid on, and that is it! If you like a little more heat, you could add 1 tspn of ground red pepper or pepper flakes, but I choose to add a little in to my reserved rub I take out for a recipe if I am feeling spicy. I then just rub massage choice of meat in olive oil and season liberally with this rub, you need nothing else.

Bye for now. I got a chicken to rub down and put in a beer bath. Hey, the beer is gluten free…and not for me. Strictly for flavor use. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

