RSS
Image

Bringing back the SOUL!

02 Jun

20130602-145816.jpg

What you know good on this beautiful Sunday afternoon? I’m in the kitchen about to hook my husband UP with his all time favorite meal. Yesterday was his birthday and we could have eaten anywhere, but his only request was the following: “Soul food chicken, collard greens, fried corn off the Cobb, candied yams, and macaroni and cheese.” I don’t know about you, but just the sound of that makes me want to “holler for a collard.” Lol!

I must tell you the story about this recipe we deemed soul food chicken. Years ago we visited some mutual friends in Louisiana and after traveling by car for hours and hungry for a good meal, me and the lady of the house threw together this chicken using just basic ingredients we had on hand, and it turned out to be a hit! My husband kept requesting that I make that chicken we had over Roy and April’s, and I tweaked it a bit to put my spin on it. If you got Old bay seasoning, Lawry’s seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cream of chicken soup, milk, chicken stock, butter, and an 8 pc cut up chicken, you can make this dish. I vary the spices based on what I have a taste for, but either way the result is a tender, baked chicken with a rich stewed down glaze on top that is reminiscent of a good hallmark soul food restaurant. It is perfect with collards and yams. I will post the recipe shortly, but pretty much all you do is season chicken with a little bit of the above spices, heat a skillet with a little butter and olive oil on medium high heat, and sear chicken until brown on both sides, make the glaze with the soup, milk, and a little chicken stock, pour over chicken in skillet, cover with a lid, and bake in oven on 375 for an hour and an half or until fork tender. Delicious! I do like to add a little white wine to deglaze my pan once I finish searing the chicken before adding cream soup mixture. And for a quick cooking tip, any meat I braise in the oven, whether chicken or roast, I always sear first to get the crust nicely browned. Who wants pale chicken? Certainly not me. The above was the short cut recipe, but I will write and post my detailed version shortly.

In case you’re wondering, pictured above is fried corn in the making. We can’t wait for summer to arrive because corn is in season and we can indulge in this southern favorite. If you thought it was canned cream corn, you are wrong. We don’t “do” canned vegetables here. I told you we only about “all things whole food.” ;-).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

