RSS
Image

Low carbing it! Grilled Garlic Tomatoes

07 May

20130507-191832.jpg

I hope this photo does the title justice. These are grilled tomatoes that are seasoned with savory herbs, toasted garlic in olive oil, and a sprinkle of Parmesan reggiano and thyme. I started off on grill to get that smoked flavor, then transferred to cast iron skillet to roast in oven to reduce down, and finally topping with fresh grated Parmesan. I will serve this on a bed of organic spring mix salad and topped with thin slices of grilled ribeye on top. Perfection! I’ll make a simple dressing of fresh squeezed lemon, olive oil, Dijon mustard and Balsamic vinegar to dress the salad.

When my husband and I notice ourselves getting “chunky,” we resort to eating low carb to get back on track. I love it because it’s easy, no counting calories, just food combining. Eating this way keeps you full and satisfied. As a starter, I made mushroom bisque soup to tie us over until dinner.

Budget tip: I bought 2 1 pound thick cut ribeyes that I will slice thin in 4 ounce servings, which will give me enough for 2 meals (1 steak will feed us 4 tonight). I buy the big organic salad bins at Costco, along with tomatoes and mushrooms for the other dishes. Even the huge Parmesan reggiano can be purchased there. The idea is to buy in bulk the items you will use for a meal and double the servings for 2 separate meals. That way we will use up the fresh produce on hand and round out the meals.

I’ll post a pic when the plate is all dressed up. See you in a few…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

