RSS
Image

Peasantry eating at it’s finest.

05 May

20130505-145753.jpg

Hello all on this glorious Sunday! It’s been a minute since I blogged so I wanted to stop by and show my face. Today we are having what we call our “peasantry meal,” you know the one you can pull off for less than $20 (try that at your Sunday restaurant), which for us consists of Pinto beans with hambone, barbecue meatloaf, skillet cornbread, chow relish, iced tea, and banana pudding for dessert. Anytime I can sneak in an organic ingredient for pennies more I do, like the pound of dried organic pinto beans that cost me around $2.49 a pound, the organic chicken stock I buy to slow cook them in courtesy of Costco for around $2 a carton, and the organic bananas for the banana pudding which were just 34 cents more than conventional. I hear folks say that eating organic is too expensive, but either they are buying unnecessary things organic or opting for convenience, which in the world of whole food eating is a much needed attribute. I cannot tell you the times I have went to Earth Fare to pick up my basic produce to find they are “out of stock” or waiting for next morning’s shipment. Even though it’s an inconvenience I have to rely on the fact that Mother Nature knows best and GOOD food takes time to grow before it hits my table. But the trade off for my health is priceless. We all are trying to cut costs here and there, and make trade offs where necessary. For my house, we have decided we absolutely will not skimp on buying all natural, antibiotic free meats, and that they are worth the added cost when we choose to eat it. Have you heard the horror that is going on with some meat purveyors now? From pink slime to ground horse meat quite frankly I am scared! I buy all my meats from Earth Fare, and I have to tell you how reassuring and therapeutic it was to actually “watch” them one morning freshly grinding up the ground chuck. And at $4.99 a pound on sale, not bad of a stretch to make a fantastic meatloaf, full of good stuff.

This coming week, I will be blogging about getting the junk out your kitchen and welcoming you to the world of whole food eating and how to make it work. Your health is worth the work. Sure, I might indulge in some of my old favorites, like banana pudding, but it will be with utmost eye on quality with layer upon layer of organic bananas, organic sugar, eggs, organic milk, and high quality vanilla. They even make all natural vanilla wafers…go figure.

So until tomorrow, put your best foot forward in the kitchen. Your family is depending on you. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

