RSS
Image

Collard Greens 101

22 Dec

20121222-111354.jpg

Christmas dinner preparations are underway, and while my cornbread is in the oven, I am working on my greens. I think two of the biggest mistakes that cooks make, especially us African-Americans, is that we cook our vegetables too long, and overseasoning. These are not quite done, but they will still have that collard green “al dente “bite to them instead of being reduced to soggy green liquid…speaking of which you don’t need alot of for greens. I want to “taste” my collards, instead of having the greens masked over by a bunch of spices. And as far as seasonings go, I always use chicken or vegetable stock instead of water, and make sure my stock is seasoned to taste BEFORE I add the greens to the pot, along with using flavor enhancers like chopped onions, garlic, and shallots. I start off by seasoning every pot of greens or beans I cook with by heating up a little olive oil, fresh chopped onions and garlic, saute down until golden with my hambone, then add liquid, seasonings, then greens or beans. “If the liquid is good, the greens will be good.” Keep in mind the flavors will deepen the more they cook. For these collard greens, I used my basic vegetarian greens recipe (can find recipe on home page), but included a Honeybaked Ham hambone in to give a nice ham flavor. Also, whether by fact or hearsay, I always sprinkle a little vinegar and baking soda in my greens (don’t ask me why I do it, I just know it works). And crushed red pepper flakes sprinkled over top while cooking? Crucial. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

