RSS

Frugal Finds: Honeybaked Ham Hambones!

27 Nov

((Singing)) “Beans and cornbread had a fight. Beans knocked cornbread out of sight. Cornbread said, Now that’s alright. Meet me on the corner tomorrow night. I’ll be ready, I’ll be ready tomorrow night. That’s what Beans said to cornbread, I’ll be ready tomorrow night.” Remember that old song by Louis Jordan? Oooo, I can smell the pinto beans! Lol!

Seriously, that song has me up this morning getting ready to go to our local Honeybaked Ham store to pick up nothing else but…..drum roll please….A HAMBONE! This has to be one of the best kept secret to cheap eats that I have never heard of, until yesterday. My sister told me she heard you could buy hambones from Honeybaked ham, and I didn’t believe it until I called to verify myself and it is true. For less than about $10, you can get a beautiful hambone with about 2 pounds of meat still left on to make sandwiches, use in soups, and make a pot of beans. That is fantastic! I will never buy ham hocks again.

So what’s my mission? To buy one hambone and see how many meals I can make off of it. I’ll share a pic of my fabulous find soon. I’m already dreaming of ham sandwiches, ham salad, split pea soup, pinto beans….(still dreaming)….

See you around the corner, with cornbread in hand! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Frugal Finds: Honeybaked Ham Hambones!

  1. igniteo2Tamela

    November 27, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Sound delicious! No more adding the ham flavored packet to my 13 bean soup…LOL!!! Thanks to you and your sis for the tip.

     
    • thepreparedtable73

      November 27, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      I know right! I must have been living under a rock to miss that all these years. They only had frozen ones when I went, but the manager was nice enough to reserve me a fresh cut one to pick up later that evening. Hello! Lol!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

