RSS

What’s cooking for Thanksgiving?

16 Nov

Hello all! It has been a while since I posted as I have been busy working on a few other projects. I know many are preparing the way for Thanksgiving, and since you know I am all about food, I wanted to take some time today and lay the ground work for my Thanksgiving. We are having to fast forward our Thanksgiving feast to Sunday, as we will be traveling to be with my husband’s family in his home state of Florida this holiday, so I am two days away from planning, shopping, and laying out a delightful spread. If you are like my family, we like the idea of having a “little something at the house” to eat, regardless of whether we are traveling or visiting extended family locally, so here I sit coming up with a simple Thanksgiving meal that will satisfy everyone’s taste.

Now Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays are special meals, so I like to get a conscensus of what everyone likes to eat. My husband is a traditionalist, so he has to have turkey and dressing, my daughter, Victoria, will rake you over for some macaroni and cheese, and my youngest daughter, Olivia, is all about a 7-up pound cake (did I tell you she was greedy? Lol!) Being I love all things food, I fill in the wishlist with sides that will complement everything. I try to take it up a notch each year and try a new recipe, or recreate a traditional one, but what I have found is that when it comes to that one special day, most people like the “traditional” tastes of food, nothing fancy, just the basics done right! So this Sunday as we celebrate our Thanksgiving meal early, I am going to roll out our traditional favorites which will consist of the following:

Smoked turkey
Cornbread dressing
Turnip greens
Honey-Lime Chipotle sweet potato spears
Macaroni and cheese
Cranberry sauce
Iced tea
Yeast rolls
7-up pound cake
Pumpkin pie with fresh whipped cream
Pecan pie

Whew! I’m getting tired just thinking about the work that will entail. (Lol!) Thankfully, I have some help as my favorite barbecue place is smoking my turkey, and I will pick up a fresh dozen of yeast rolls from a local restaurant here. Also, as I am a caterer too, I will be using disposable aluminum half pans with the lids (can find them at Sam’s), to prepare the dishes in the day before, and bake off the next morning. That way we save on having to wash dishes, and storing leftovers is a snap. And thanks to my beloved delitainers, I will be doing all of my chopping and shredding ahead of time, and store in the sealed cups so when it is time to cook, I’m ready to rock and roll!

Stay tuned, as Sunday I will be posting some pics, helpful tips, along with the recipes we rely on for our traditional holiday meal. See you then! Oh, and by the way, throw out the diet plans this one day. It is all about decadence…and leftovers! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

