RSS

Sunday’s best – Braised Chuck Roast, Turnip Greens, and Candied Yams

21 Oct

Sunday dinners are a tradition in our house that stems way back from childhood. It was my grandmother’s custom to rise early in the morning before church service and get Sunday dinner on. The smell of deliciousness permeating through the house and the sound of gospel music coming across the radio graced our Sunday mornings, and got us off to a blessed start of the week. Old customs die hard, and to this day I follow the same pattern of rising early before church and preparing Sunday dinner for my family. There is something therapeutic about coming home from a joyous day at church, kicking off your shoes, and enjoying a sit down meal with family as we laugh, reflect on the day, and connect. This is a tradition I plan to be able to extend from generation to generation. If you make no other meal of the week special, make Sunday “best.”

Today, I am gracing my table with one of my favorite meals my grandmother would make: Braised Chuck Roast, Turnip Greens, Candied Yams, and Cornbread. Add to that a tall glass of iced tea, a side of chow-chow (for the greens), and a slice of tomato and onion, you are set! And the best part – I have tweaked it to make it gluten free! Oooh the smells coming from my kitchen right now…:)

You may click on my recipe link on home page for “Braised Chuck Roast (gluten free).” It is fork tender good! I’ll post a pic once our sit down meal is complete. Gotta go finish up. It’s time to go get our worship/praise on!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

