RSS

What’s cooking this weekend? White Navy Bean Soup and Pumpkin Bread…

21 Sep

Hello to everyone on this fabulous Friday! The sun is shining, the air is crisp from Fall breeze, and I am in a “cooking state of mind.” This week marks a full month that I have chosen to go gluten-free and I feel fantastic. I sleep better, have more energy, and am not plagued by IBS symptoms and chronic inflammatory pain issues. Who knew a little wheat protein called gluten could wreak so much havoc on your health? Everyday I am getting better and better, and because of how great I feel, I am even more conscious to read the labels and modify my recipes to make them gluten free…which brings me to my meal dilemna this weekend…

As a surprise to my husband, I planned on making his favorite soup, White Navy Bean soup. It has chicken breasts, navy beans, diced celery, diced potatoes, mozarella cheese, spices, and a creamy base made with cream of celery soup. I picked up a can of Campbell’s cream of celery soup, read the label, and what does it have in it? Wheat flour. I checked the other usuals – cream of chicken and cream of mushroom, and low and behold, all made with wheat flour. Convicted by my new eating lifestyle, I put them back on the shelf and made a personal quest to either find a canned gluten free version, or make it myself.

Eager to find a recipe on line, I came across a blog that had a recipe for “Magic Mix” (all-purpose GF flour, powdered milk, and butter) that you whip up as a base, and then reconstitute it to make cream of celery, cream of chicken, or cream of mushroom. What a lifesaver! And to top it all off, the mix is dry and can stay in the fridge for months, and all you do is scoop out how much base you need and add the other stuff to it, like chicken stock, mushrooms and mushroom broth, or celery juice with onion powder and celery salt. Thank God I own a Breville juicer, because now I can easily juice some celery and keep the celery juice on hand.

So now I am off to make some white navy bean soup, and a warm fresh baked loaf of pumpkin bread – all gluten free. If it turns out well, I will post a pic…Lol! Have a fabulous weekend, and see you in the next blog!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

