RSS

“Food is Medicine!” Celtic sea salt

06 Jun

OK…you know how crazy I get when I stumble across a new good thing. Forget everything you heard about salt, and listen up. Salt has gotten a bad rap because of the touted health risks it can cause, namely high blood pressure, water retention, etc. But then there is Celtic sea salt…

You thought salt was salt, right?! Wrong! The refined white table salt that we are accustomed to using is not good for us as it is devoid of minerals and cannot be assimilated by the body. Celtic sea salt on the other hand has live minerals and trace elements which have numerous benefits to our body, like strengthening our immune system against bacteria and infection, increasing alkaline level in the body, and even helping the body to rid itself of water retention. This beautiful sea salt harvested off the coast of France is unrefined, naturally aired and sundried, still retaining all of its vital nutrients, like magnesium and iodine (the latter of which is good for thyroid health). I know I can personally attest to the fact that once while on vacation after surgery and still dealing with pain from recovery, after spending alot of time in the ocean that day, I noticed my pain had greatly diminished. Maybe it was the magnesium benefits…that still baffles me, but is true.

Don’t be surprised by the “wet” feel to the salt if you crush it with your fingers, it is actually wet because it retains part of the sea water. What it does to food will amaze you! It really makes whatever you sprinkle it on sing with flavor! I have been using it liberally in my kitchen over scrambled and boiled eggs for breakfast, sauces, cooking pasta, and coating meats. The mild flavor it imparts cannot be matched. It is not as salty as table salt, so experiment with seasoning to your taste factor. I know when I picked it up at the store, several customers and employees raved about how good it was, and after I researched the health profile behind it, I found that it is very good indeed. It can even be used as a detox drink with water, or added to Bragg’s apple cider vinegar drink as an added nutritional boost.

You can find it at your local healthy grocery store like Earth Fare, Whole Foods, or on line at Amazon.com. Check out the link below and read up further on this amazing sea salt. I figure if it is good enough for sea life, it is good enough for me. By the way, did you know that your blood has almost the same salt profile as sea water?! I’ll keep that in mind the next time I go to my natural habitat…the beach 🙂

Health Benefits Of Celtic Sea Salt | LIVESTRONG.COM.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to ““Food is Medicine!” Celtic sea salt

  1. thepreparedtable73

    May 9, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Reblogged this on thepreparedtable73 and commented:

    Change your salt to the healthy kind.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

