RSS

Living well on “living foods”

27 Apr

Here I was strolling along, minding my own business, when I ran across the new love of my life. I was in Earthfare looking to buy my usual brand of honey when I saw “Wee Bee” raw honey. What caught my attention was first that it was in a glass jar (which I love), but that it was a creamy, deeply rich-colored honey. Then I read the label and it stated that it was “straight from the beehive, with nothing removed, and included the honeycomb, pollen, and propolis in it.” Wow, the whole kit and kaboodle?!

I asked the stock person had he tried it, and he was nice enough to pop open a jar and let me sample it. When I scooped it out with my finger and tasted, I knew I was through! It was unequivocally THE best, most creamy, deeply decadent, rich, sweet, floral fragranced honey I had ever tasted (and I have tried some good honeys). He handed me the jar, marked it for FREE, told me to enjoy at home, and come back and purchase another jar later if I liked it. Wow! Now that’s what I like about Earthfare 🙂 No doubt, I definitely will be purchasing more of that in the future. I am HOOKED! Mmmmm….

Now you probably are like, “All that over some honey?” Yes…which brings me to what I want to talk about today. It is what food does FOR me, that hooks me. You see, on that jar of honey was information on how raw honey has been used for centuries to improve digestion, oral health, sore throat, cough, allergies, wounds, scars, and rashes. In my hands I was holding a wealthy jar of health. Did you know that raw honey gives you a boost of energy? Some people eat a tablespoon a day as part of their health regimen to reap benefits like that. When we say food is medicine, we are not kidding you!

Living foods not only awaken our bodies, but our tastebuds, our senses, our minds to a world of exploration when it comes to food. I knew with that one jar of honey, the possibilities would be endless in how I would use it – like to sweeten my coffee, tea, put in my cooking and baking recipes to add a depth of flavor, make the best glaze for fried plaintains, slather over homemade banana bread, or use as part of my luxurious bath regimen (yes, honey is very softening and moisturizing to the skin). Oh, I could go on and on…

Below is a link to a wonderful site that lists the top whole foods and gives incredible research on why it was chosen as one of the most nutritionally dense foods in the world. Click on the different foods listed, read up on them, and incorporate a few into your diet. Can you imagine centering your grocery shopping around this list?! I challenge you to shop for foods like you are shopping for “living medicine,” looking at the touted nutritional and health benefits and purchasing according to what your body needs in your personal diet. Combine superfoods together for an “one-two” punch! Play around with them and come up with a power packed meal on your plate. Stay tuned, for we’ll be sharing recipes for power packed meals in the future. See you Monday, where we will introduce our next pillar of health, and make sure to tune in Wednesday as we debut our new “Food is Medicine” item. You don’t even have to wonder what it will be 😉

WHFoods: The World's Healthiest Foods.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

