RSS

“Seven Pillars of Health” Pillar 2: Rest and Sleep

16 Apr

If you had seen us last night you would have thought Santa was coming! “It’s almost 10, turn the tv and lights off and hurry up and get in the bed!” I had to repeat this command again for my husband who was watching his sports. Lol! By 9:55, we all were successfully in bed. Yay! We had met our goal…until the counting of sheep for me began…

Within 3 minutes my husband was “peacefully” snoring in my ear. With eyes closed, I heard every car pull up in the neighborhood, rehashed my to do list for the week, reminisced on our evening walk, while in between catching “mini naps.” I woke up randomly all through the night, and thought, “maybe I should have taken some melatonin?” Yes, I was comfortable in bed, but uninterrupted sleep does not come easy for me. I am by nature a light sleeper. My husband nicknamed me the “house rat” as he claims he hears me in the wee hours of the night scurrying around the house, rustling papers, fiddling with plastic, etc. Lol! Well that’s about to change…

I have been looking forward to reading this second pillar – rest and sleep. In the chapter, Don Colbert discusses how sleep deprivation is equivalent to operating as one who is drunk (impaired mobility), and that a great majority of Americans deal with insomnia and lack of sleep to the detriment of their health. Did you know that obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes, headaches, depression, anxiety, and the like has in part been attributed or exacerbated by a lack of sleep? There are important growth and stabilizing hormones that our body produces when we sleep – like leptin that controls our appetite, and rest helps to lower the stress inducing hormone – cortisol. In essence, just like an amusement park that is dangerous for public use because it has not been maintained, so is our body dangerously unhealthy when we do not give it proper rest. He spoke about how many recharge their cell phones, blackberry, and Ipods more than they recharge their body. It’s time for us to “plug-in.” (Get it…like you plug in your phone recharger…I’m on a roll today… Lol!)

There are many hindrances to sleep and culprits that he names, which are stress, caffeine, eating late, high sugar consumption, medications, lack of exercise, menopause in women, prostate problems in men, and chronic health conditions just to name a few. We need to take a good hard look at our own sleep hygiene, do inventory, and find out what our culprits are. This is one pillar of health I plan on acing, so I am getting seriously purposeful on making sleep and rest a priority. Many of us pride ourselves on “burning the midnight oil” but it’s time to blow the flame out and get on life’s normal rhythm. Even the sun knows when to set and go in for the night…

So I challenge you, as I challenge myself, restructure your day so you are in bed in time to get at least 7 to 9 hours of sleep. Your brain will thank you, your immune system will thrive, and I am sure you will look, feel, and be a much better person in your day. Let’s go get that beauty rest. By the time I’m done with this pillar, on my pillow, I am going to be gorgeous 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to ““Seven Pillars of Health” Pillar 2: Rest and Sleep

  1. Celina

    April 22, 2012 at 9:11 am

    Reblogged this on Living Beyond Organic Mom.

     
    • thepreparedtable73

      April 25, 2012 at 9:29 am

      Hello Celina! I am Bridget. Thanks for liking and sharing my blog!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

