RSS

“Seven Pillars of Health” Pillar 1: Water

04 Apr

“Some people water their plants more than they water their bodies.” That is one of the quotes that Dr. Don Colbert makes, and one that really got me to thinking. Actually I do not have a green thumb so my lawn and shrubs are just as dry and parched as my body! (Lol)! I have not drank near as much as the recommended amount of water, which the book says should be HALF YOUR BODY WEIGHT IN OUNCES. So if you weigh 200 pounds, you should be drinking 100 oz of water a day. I weigh 126, so I should have at least been drinking 63 ounces 😦

He talks about how many are in a state of “mild dehydration” because they chronically do not drink as much water as they should, and our body suffers because of it. Migraines, peptic ulcer disease, brain fog, arthritis, asthma, back pain, joint pain, are just some of the conditions that can be greatly helped or relieved by simply drinking more water. Matter of fact, your brain is made up by a large percent of water, and studies are starting to show a link between water consumption and development of Alzheimer’s. Water is the most important foundational pillar of health that we must establish in our lives.

When we do not drink enough water, our bodies become acidic (an acidic body causes degeneration). Our blood is alkaline, and drinking alkaline water will bring your body back into a balanced state of alkalinity. You can test your pH right at home by purchasing test strips from a pharmacy. He talked about the importance of drinking pure filtered water, preferably from glass bottles. I know here locally, you can buy reverse osmosis water at Earth Fare for 39 cents/gallon and fill them in your own jugs/containers. I like their water because they remove all the chlorine and pharmaceutical drugs out the water. It was shocking to me to learn how bacteria, chlorine, chemicals, and pharmaceutical drugs are in our tap water! So if you do nothing else, buy a good water filter, or purchase your water from a good water source like at Earth Fare or Food for Life. I am going to start buying my alkaline water from Food for Life as it is only $1 a gallon, a small price to pay for alkaline water. Alkaline water hydrates your body more and goes into the cells of your body quickly. I know in the past when we tried it, I could feel the rejuvenation and energy within minutes of drinking it, and since my goal is to bring my body into a more alkaline state, my focus will be on making sure I have alkaline water in supply.

So make sure you drink your daily amount of water each day. For me, as I struggle with drinking enough water, I am putting myself on a water schedule – 9 am, 12 pm, 3 pm, and 6 pm to get it in. Also, eating fruits and vegetables with a high water content, like watermelons, bananas, and green leafy vegetables will help you meet your water intake goal, so be sure to include those in your diet. Kudos to you as you meet your water goal today. I’m about to raise my glass right now 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to ““Seven Pillars of Health” Pillar 1: Water

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

