RSS

Ahhh…Roasting!

07 Mar

“Roasted.” Just the sound of that word makes me happy. I can think of a lot of things I enjoy roasted – peanuts namely, but I want to share how this simple trick in the kitchen will yield a layer of depth to your dishes that no other way can.

Roasting not only seals in the juices, but helps to concentrate the flavor in any item you are cooking. Take chicken for example. You will have the most tender, juicy chicken to complement the nice brown, crispy texture on the outside. You get the perfect balance of both. I love rubbing on a little seasoning rub, then roasting a whole chicken, ribeye roast, tenderloin, or rack of pork for a delicious Sunday or mid week meal. Talk about comfort food at its finest! Served alongside some fresh garlic mashed potatoes, roasted vegetables, with all that good natural juice from the meat poured on top . . .okay, I’m spending a little bit too much time on that idea (Lol!). Now let me share a few other things I like to roast, and the basic items you will need.

Every kitchen should have half-sized aluminum baking sheet pans (13 x 18) size. They are the most versatile, cheap, pieces of cookware to have in your kitchen where they will serve multiple purposes like making brownies, roasting vegetables, making hand cut fries, roasting chicken, etc. A roasting pan is pretty essential too, but if you want a place to start, I highly suggest you get at least 2 nice baking sheet pans. I go to the commercial kitchen store here in my area and buy mine, Vollrath Wearever 5033, and they have really held up excellently! And to think they only cost me around $8 bucks each? Now that’s good! When I make chicken salad, I ALWAYS roast split chicken breasts with the skin on, then cut the meat off the bone to use in my dish. It really saturates the flavor of the chicken and yields a more tender taste to the chicken in the dish. And when I make sweet potatoe pie, I ALWAYS roast my sweet potatoes whole, scoop out the flesh when done, and then go from there to finish making my pies. There is a rich depth of flavor and color to your pies that you will definitely notice. Just thinking about that makes me hungry 🙂

Yes, roasting may take a little more time in the oven, but actually I find that it frees up my time to work on other things either in the kitchen or around the house while my oven is doing its thing. Roasting is my number one preferred way to cook meats and vegetables, besides grilling, and is a good starting point for new cooks to practice their skills. Once you get a roasted chicken under your belt, you are well on your way to receiving your black belt in roasting!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

