RSS

“Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is!” Day 3: Friends in the Market

07 Feb

Remember that song from Cheers?  “Sometimes you want to go, where everybody knows your name.  And they’re always glad you came.”  That song rings true for me when it comes to making friends in the market.  Some don’t put too much thought into making acquaintenance with the meat man, the produce person, or the checkout gal, but there is an added bonus in getting to know the people who supply your family with the groceries you eat.  They know when the next shipment is coming in, what the good eats are inside the store, where the money saving coupon promotions are at, and sometimes are able to give you quick insight on an item you are purchasing. 

One of my favorite things to do on a Saturday when I go visit my family in Decatur is to stop by the farmer’s market and buy the local produce.  There is a family of farmers I have known since I was a kid (amazingly they still remember my mom and I), and I make sure I buy from them as they feel like family to me, and sometimes they will put a little extra produce in my bag as a thank you.  Or the meat manager at my favorite grocer who will say, “Hey, we got your skirt steak in!”  One time they even gave me one to try on the house, for free!  Then there is the produce guy who is proud of the new melons that came in and will slice open one for you to try…which usually leads me to end up buying one because it is so good 🙂

So all in all, I want for you to look at the people in the markets as a circle of friends who are partners in keeping your family nutritionally fed.  This is best accomplished at grocery stores/markets that share your wholesome philosophy about food and take pride in the quality of what they do.  In essence, they are your extended family, because without their contribution to your local community, you wouldn’t eat!  I’m not asking for you to become pen pals or buddies, but sometimes just a simple exchange of “Hello, what’s up”…..”What looks good today”…along with a nice “Thank you” goes a long way…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

