RSS

“Eating Good – Daniel Style!” Day 12

17 Jan

Happy week everyone!  I hope your journey thus far has been rewarding.  I had a great weekend experimenting with making my own vegetable stock and it turned out good.  Usually on a Saturday I throw out any unused veggies, but I found an excellent roasted vegetable stock recipe that turned a few meager fresh vegetables, herbs, and water into 3 quarts of beautiful stock for the freezer.  I use stock in my rice, beans, soups, 0r just about anything that calls for water in a vegetable recipe as it gives more flavor.  I told my husband  this will be a part of my weekend ritual – simmering stock to use for the next week.  It is so therapeutic making something out of nothing.  Also, I found the most amazing deal on chafer sets for my business for … drum roll please . . .$24.91!  Don’t you just love how God will have you in the right place, at the right time, for the right opportunity?!  Now that brings me to my point for today…..

God has you right now in the right place, at the right time, for the right opportunity.  He has great things He wants to reveal to you both spiritually and naturally – all if you allow for Him to touch you.  Whatever He is putting his finger on in your life, allow him to touch it.  Ironically, we allow God to touch our finances, our marriages, and our health, but not our food!  Have you once considered that these 21 days of fasting are in essence a trial period by God to teach you how to cook with all the bounty that earth has naturally offered?  Some of us will have never even thought of eating a meatless meal unless it was commanded through a fast – and to some of our surprise, it has not been bad at all – actually enjoyable!  So let me leave you with this thought.  Allow God to touch your appetite for things healthy.  Make small changes in how you prepare your dishes, and how many vegetable dishes you incorporate into your menu.  I know for my house, we are adopting a 4 to 3 rule after the fast:  4 days of vegetarian meals a week, and 3 days of meat dishes – with meat being an accent.  Take a good hard look and decide for yourself with God’s leading what is nutritionally sound for your family.  I know for mine we have high blood pressure, thyroid, asthma, and allergies that we are taking our diet into consideration for.  Use this time to educate yourself on how food works, and allow God to make you the “registered” nutritionist for your home.  Happy whole living!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

