RSS

Eating Good – Daniel Style!

04 Jan

As for the next 21 days I will be adhering to the Daniel fast, I felt it fitting to blog about how you can eat good on the fast – so look up, your redemption draweth nigh!   For an overview, the basic allowed foods are  water, fruits, vegtables, nuts, legumes, whole grains, quality oils, and vinegar; while abstaining from dairy, meats, fried foods, sugars (google it for more specifics).  I actually had an aversion to meat as I saw cuts of animal flesh packed all pretty in the case – Eww!  (For now at least, Lol!)  Now to the good stuff!  I spent yesterday grocery shopping for my basic staples which are olive oil, coconut oil, unsweetened coconut milk, Earth Balance (vegetarian butter),  fresh nuts, leafy green vegetables, green beans, zuchinni, squash, onions, garlic, celery, carrots, vegetable stock, apples, raisins, rolled oats, bananas, plaintains, frozen fruit, organic apple and orange juice, fresh lemons, oranges, and herbs.  I soak all the produce in a solution of water, Bragg’s organic apple cider vinegar, and baking soda to clean, then dry and store in Ziploc produce bags in fridge so they are ready to go.  I will awake to a smoothie I blend of bananas, frozen berries, coconut milk, and a splash of juice – Good morning, Bridget!  Then I will whip up an apple crisp, cook some vegetarian Glory Greens for later in the week (turnip and mustard of which I found for $1 a bag – glory!), gently roast some carrots for an amazing roasted carrot coconut curry soup, grill up some assorted peppers, zuchinni, squash, green beans and mushrooms for a beautiful vegetable antipasto tray for dinner – drizzled with lemony olive oil dressing and smoky salt…Whew!  And I am JUST getting started.  For the next 21 days, I will be sharing recipes, tips, and finds on some glorious food – while all the while enjoying this time of refreshing while God resets me.  They say it takes 21 days to break and form a habit – and maybe, just maybe, this may be the diet I lean into this year.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Eating Good – Daniel Style!

  1. Erica

    January 4, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Can I get your recipe for the carrot coconut & curry soup? Sounds Delish!

     
    • thepreparedtable73

      January 4, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      Sure! Just finished making it, and I’m about to post it now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

