RSS

The prepared woman . . .

01 Jan

Crossed over into the new year with a sense of obligation to myself.  Although I brought with me zeal and excitement for the things ahead – new adventures, thoughts, finally tapping into my creative juices…I also brought the reality of hyperthyroidism, with its accompanying fatigue, weight loss, and discomfort because of a metabolism gone haywire.  You see, with hopes for a new year and new beginnings, we also bring some of the things that we wished stayed behind at the stroke of midnight.    While I anticipate great things for “The Prepared Table,” my first focus will always be on making sure the woman behind the brand is prepared – and for me that starts with my health.  I embark this year taking a good hard look at what I can do to give my body what it needs to heal itself, to nurture itself, so that it can give me the optimum quality of life that all my hopes and dreams deserve.  So as I look forward to preparing your table, I will first use my wisdom and insight I have about food to build a prepared and healthy woman, one bite at a time, at my own table.  Happy New Year!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “The prepared woman . . .

  1. Reshonda

    January 6, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I am really looking forward to this journey. I have been dealing with thyroid deseas for quite some time. I am going to the grocery store to begin tempering my mind and body, and pantry for the fast. This is a true blessing to me. Do I need a food processor?

     
    • thepreparedtable73

      January 7, 2012 at 4:20 am

      If I had to have only one kitchen appliance, a food processor would be it. I use my food processor to make my smoothies, chop veggies, puree soups, so it really would be a good idea to consider buying one. If you do, get a Cuisinart brand one. I have had mine for YEARS and they really hold up and work beautifully.

       
    • thepreparedtable73

      January 7, 2012 at 4:26 am

      I am on this journey with you Reshonda! If you need any help or have questions, just ask. I have dealt with thyroid issues myself for a long time and it has been a rollercoaster ride. But I know, for me, I have to find out what is triggering it, and food is where I am starting. By the way, research has determined there is a connection between gluten allergies and thyroid issues…my doctor had mentioned this to me too, so for myself, I am cutting out all wheat and eating gluten free. Google it on the web. It is very interesting information. Much success to you Reshonda!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

ignitethefireo2

I will speak, that I may be refreshed.. Job 32:20

Living Beyond Organic Mom

If You Care About What's In Your Food!

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

